top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGretchen Fox

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish



Sometimes life is so poetically full-circle, you just have to stop and appreciate it. You see, it was exactly 8 years ago today that I announced to the world that I had started a new job as a Community Manager at a little ol' company called Yelp.


So though I didn't actively plan it this way, it does seem only fitting that today, the anniversary of the real beginning of my Yelp career, is also my very last day at Yelp. ❤️


8 years ago, I had no idea what would be in store for me over my tenure at this company -- the incredible events I would be able to execute, the amazing campaigns and initiatives I would be able to put together, the local businesses I would be able to promote, the way I'd get to love on Northern Virginia and show off all the reasons why it's such a wonderful place to live, and, of course, the effortlessly deep, beautiful, and meaningful friendships that I would make along the way.


It's sappy to say, I know. Like, SO sappy. But this job really did change my life. Not only was it along for the ride as I literally grew up, but it also is directly responsible for helping me *to* grow. This role sharpened my skills, helped me learn new ones, taught me about my passions, and showed me how to focus my creativity and strengths.


And most importantly, it brought absolutely incredible people into my life. For that, I will be eternally grateful.


It really does feel like the end of an era. But while it's bittersweet to turn the page on this chapter, I am thrilled to start the next one as well. And what might that be, you ask? Well, I'm diving into the tech startup world with a new gig as the Director of Content Marketing for Surprise.com! Stay tuned for more on what all of that will entail, but there's definitely some exciting stuff brewing.


But until then, let me just say: thank you to everyone who has made this the most excellent adventure. I love you all.

22 views0 comments
bottom of page